Programme of Events

May 2021

Sat 1/5/21 – Ruxley Apiary – Closed to members

Sat 8/5/21 – Baldwyns Apiary – Closed to members

Sat 15/5/21 – Ruxley Apiary – Closed to members.

Sat 22/5/21 – Baldwyns Apiary – Closed to members.

Apiary managers and appointed helpers only:

9:00am – 3:00pm Basic Beekeeping Course: 1st Practical

Sat 22/5/21 – Ruxley Apiary – Apiary opens to members and visitors.

Sat 29/5/21 – Baldwyns Apiary – Apiary opens to members.

2 pm: Routine inspection of colonies, swarm prevention, Varroa entrapment frames check.

Due to cold weather and June gap, colonies fed if required.

June 2021

Sat 5/6/21 – Baldwyns Apiary

2 pm: Routine inspection of colonies, swarm prevention, Varroa entrapment frames check.

Sat 12/6/21 – Ruxley Apiary – Closed to members

Apiary managers and appointed helpers only:

9:00am – 3:00pm Basic Beekeeping Course: 2nd Practical

Sat 19/6/21 – Baldwyns Apiary

2pm: Routine inspection of colonies, swarm prevention, Varroa entrapment frames check.

Sat 26/6 – Ruxley Apiary

2pm: Routine inspection of colonies, swarm prevention, Varroa entrapment frames check.

July 2021

Sat 3/7/21 – Baldwyns Apiary

2pm: Routine inspection of colonies, Varroa entrapment frames check.

Sat 10/7/21 – Ruxley Apiary

2pm: Routine inspection of colonies, the last Varroa entrapment frames check.

Sat 17/7/21 – Baldwyns Apiary

2pm: Preparation for honey crop extraction in the two weeks’ time in Ruxley Apiary. Consolidation of frames with honey.

Sat 17/7/21 – Ruxley Apiary

2pm: Preparation for honey crop extraction in the two weeks’ time in Ruxley Apiary. Consolidation of frames with honey.

Sat 24/7/21 – Ruxley Apiary

2pm: Clean up and preparation of the apiary sheds in readiness for the honey extraction.

Thu 29/7/21 – Both apiaries

6pm: Bees cleared from honey boxes. Boxes from Baldwyns Apiary transported to Ruxley Apiary.

Sat 31/7/21 – Ruxley Apiary

10 am Honey crop extraction.